Heather Batchelor’s “Fine Line”

Image
by Dave Carew

Sometimes when I see a young artist performing in Nashville, I think, “Man, her voice is so good, so beguiling . . . it’s like she’s just one hit away from big, big things.” That’s precisely what I thought when I saw Heather Batchelor play last month at Belcourt Taps.

Still paying her dues and flying mostly off the radar, Ms. Batchelor has a voice most female artists would die for. Both technically good and hauntingly compelling, it puts across the five songs on her EP Fine Line in a way that makes famous pop artists of her generation (Taylor Swift, Katy Perry) seem down-right uninteresting.

Heather’s voice is the perfect vehicle for her confessional brand of songwriting. “I write from experience,” she recently told Underground Nashville. “Every song contains true details of my life. I take the ugly parts and make them beautiful in some way; and the good parts I just make better . . . . I think the best songs are the ones that are nothing but the truth, where you can live inside every syllable.”

What does she hope that does for the listener?

“I simply hope my music makes people happy, gives them a smile when they need it most,” she responds. “I am always thinking of the best way to connect with my audience, because that's what I do when listening to my favorite artists. I want my listeners to feel included because they are included. I don't just sing for an audience, I sing to them.”

She does, indeed. And the experience is unforgettable.

For more about Heather Batchelor, please visit:

http://www.heatherbatchelormusic.com/

David M. (Dave) Carew is writer/editor of “Underground Nashville” and the author of the novels “Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville” and “Voice from the Gutter,” both now available at Amazon.com and XLibris.com. Dave is also a freelance book editor, publicist, seminar and workshop leader, journalist, and advertising / marketing / public relations writer.

************
Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville by Dave Carew—which was praised by The Tennessean as “beautiful, haunting, powerful”—is now available in an all-new paperback edition. For more information, please visit Amazon.com and/or the page on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/EverythingMeansNothingtoMe?ref=ts&fref=ts

***********
Do you want to help homeless people in Nashville learn culinary arts and other employment skills that provide a specific, effective path off the streets? Please visit Lambscroft.org and consider making a financial contribution. Any amount is very helpful and appreciated. Thank you.

***********

Editor’s Note: “Underground Nashville” covers artists, authors, musicians, poets, political figures, and other compelling people and happenings not typically covered by the mainstream Nashville media. It also presents reflections and commentary from an underground/indie perspective, offering “thoughts from the shadows of a great American city.”

Dave Carew

 

Leave a Reply

