Kimberly June hosting new writers’ night at Taps

Image

I’ve known Kimberly June since she was a baby (she is my sister’s niece), and have always admired and respected her musical talent and drive. It’s a real kick for me to see someone I first saw play writers’ nights in obscure clubs in rural Maine now making a name for herself in Nashville. Kimberly signed a publishing deal with Tom-Leis Music in 2011 and now is hosting a great new writers’ night at Taps.

Underground Nashville caught up with Kimberly June for this exclusive interview about her new event:

UNDERGROUND NASHVILLE:  Why were you interested in establishing your writers’ night at Taps?

KIMBERLY JUNE: Hosting a writers’ night gives me the chance to play my new songs on a regular basis and keeps me accountable with my performing. That way, I never get “rusty.” It’s for selfish reasons, actually . . . he-he. I also think it’s good promotion for my career and my friends’ careers. We get to hang out and play our new songs for each other, get feedback and create new relationships. I chose Taps because it’s a great intimate setting, laid back, and the woman who is in charge of booking asked me if I wanted to host a weekly night. I thought weekly would be too much of a commitment, so I am doing bi-weekly.

UN: What is the single most important thing you’ve learned to date about the craft of songwriting?

KJ: One thing I’ve learned is that you never stop growing. I am a “freshman” in the songwriting career, and already I can look back to a year ago and see a huge improvement in my writing. My publisher told me I had to write at least 100 songs before I really learn what I’m doing. I also have friends who have been writing songs for 40+ years with lots of radio hits. One in particular, Bob DiPiero, never stops educating himself by reading books, watching TV series and movies, and listening to new music. He keeps up with the times and changes with it, and I think that has a lot to do with his continued success. No matter how long you’ve been writing, you keep learning, changing, and improving.

UN: What is your “dream for your music” for the next five years? What do you MOST hope to accomplish?

KJ:  In the next five years, I hope to have a #1 song on the radio. I know that’s a big dream, but I have no doubt that it’s possible. I also hope to have released an album or two of my own on iTunes/CDBaby/etc.

For more information about Kimberly June, please visit:
http://www.kimberlyjunemusic.com/

David M. (Dave) Carew is writer/editor of “Underground Nashville” and the author of the novels “Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville” and “Voice from the Gutter,” both now available at XLibris.com. Dave also is a freelance book editor, publicist, seminar and workshop leader, journalist, and advertising / marketing / public relations writer.

************
Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville by Dave Carew—which was praised by The Tennessean as “beautiful, haunting, powerful”—is now available in an all-new paperback edition. For more information, please visit and “like” the page on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/EverythingMeansNothingtoMe?ref=ts&fref=ts

***********
Do you want to help homeless people in Nashville learn culinary arts and other employment skills that provide a specific, effective path off the streets? Please visit Lambscroft.org and consider making a financial contribution. Any amount is very helpful and appreciated. Thank you.

***********

Editor’s Note: “Underground Nashville” covers artists, authors, musicians, poets, political figures, and other compelling people and happenings not typically covered by the mainstream Nashville media. It also presents reflections and commentary from an underground/indie perspective, offering “thoughts from the shadows of a great American city.”

Dave Carew

 

 

Leave a Reply

