Rhino Books vs. McKay’s

by Dave Carew

I bet you’ve been in this situation before: You’ve got tons of old books lying around in closets, or stacked up to the ceiling in rooms you hardly ever venture into, and you suddenly think to yourself, “Man, I should sell some of these, to see if I could get anything for them.”

These days, you have far more options than you did before (think Amazon and Internet what-have-you), but if you’re Retro Man like me, you tend to think in terms of, “I wonder which used bookstore would give me the most for these old books?”

So I put it to the test. After cleaning out several closets teeming with dust-laden (but valuable) books, I found myself with exactly four, roughly-suitcase-sized boxes of books. And that’s when my experiment commenced. I thought to myself, “I’m going to take two of these boxes of books to McKay’s, and two to Rhino Books over by Lipscomb. Let’s see which fair enterprise gives me more cash for my books.”  I realized I wasn’t exactly abiding by the scientific method (the boxes contained different books, after all).  But the result was telling nonetheless.

The winner?  Rhino Books, in an FDR-style landslide. For roughly the same number of books, McKay’s gave me just $18 for two boxes, Rhino, $46.

Thought you’d like to know that, the next time you go to sell your old books.

David M. (Dave) Carew is writer/editor of “Underground Nashville” and the author of the novels “Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville” and “Voice from the Gutter.” He also is a freelance book editor, publicist, seminar and workshop leader, journalist, and advertising/marketing/public relations writer.

************

Do you want to help homeless people in Nashville learn culinary arts and other employment skills that provide a specific, effective path off the streets? Please visit Lambscroft.org and consider making a financial contribution. Any amount is very helpful and appreciated. Thank you.

***********

Editor’s Note: “Underground Nashville” covers artists, authors, musicians, poets, political figures, and other compelling people and happenings not typically covered by the mainstream Nashville media. It also presents reflections and commentary from an underground/indie perspective, offering “thoughts from the shadows of a great American city.”

Dave Carew

 

 

Leave a Reply

