Interview with George Allen Hicks, Singer/Songwriter from Pfafftown, North Carolina

By Vince Gaetano

Nashville. For anyone with aspirations of country music stardom, it must really seem like a city of dreams.

Underground Nashville recently interviewed one such person, George Allen Hicks, a singer-songwriter from North Carolina who comes to Nashville whenever he can. George is trying to interest people in his heartfelt brand of country music.  Here is how our interview went:

UNDERGROUND NASHVILLE: What is your specific musical goal?

GEORGE ALLEN HICKS: My goal is to pitch my songs to Nashville artists and maybe become a staff writer for a great publishing company in Nashville.

U.N.: What have you done in Nashville in the past to try to bring your music to the attention of publishers or artists?

G.A.H.: I have played all around Nashville, places such as The Nashville Palace, John A’s, and The Gibson Showcase. I have been to several songwriting festivals. A lot of people have told me I should not hand my songs straight to artists, but, personally, I just can’t believe that. I try to give my work to as many country artists as I can.

I do a lot of meet and greets at The Wild Horse Saloon. I guess I just need to keep up the faith and maybe I will hit it when the time is right.

U.N.: Do you plan to travel to Nashville any time in 2011?

G.A.H.: I would come to Nashville at the drop of a hat. I was thinking of coming this summer.

U.N.: At that time, how do you plan to get your music heard by publishers or artists?

G.A.H.: I heard it through the grapevine that the Hooters in Hermitage is where some of the bigwigs hang out on a certain day…

U.N.: How can publishers or artists otherwise hear your music?

G.A.H.: You can Google “George Allen Hicks” and find out a lot about me. I sell some songs on CDBaby.com, I have a MySpace page at http://www.myspace.com/georgehicks1, and I have one CD on http://www.wix.com/geohicks63/country.

All you have to do is Google me, and it will take you to anything I have available. There’s about ten pages of me, with all the radio stations and sites I have music on.

*     *     *
That was our small chat with George, but it was a pleasant and informative one. I think it safe to say that Nashville welcomes George Allen Hicks with open arms. Him and his dreams.

Vince Gaetano is an aspiring screenwriter and director who has written film and album reviews for ‘Shake! Magazine’ and ‘Underground Nashville.’ He graduated with honors from SUNY Oneonta with a major in video production.

David M. (Dave) Carew is editor of “Underground Nashville” and the author of the novels “Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville” and “Voice from the Gutter.” He also is a freelance book editor, publicist, and copywriter.

Leave a Reply

