Lynda Lucas dazzles on new demo recordings

Lynda Lucas dazzles on new demo recordings
By Dave Carew

Several weeks ago, I received in the mail the new, 13-song demo from Dublin, Ireland-based singer-songwriter Lynda Lucas. Lynda had absolutely knocked me and hundreds of other people out when she opened the Gram Parsons Tribute Concert held last September in Nashville at The 5 Spot.  After that, I asked her to send me anything she might record in the future.

After I received her new demo, I asked Lynda via e-mail what her plans are for it. She responded: “I am not sure what I am doing with the CD yet, but I have a few gigs lined up in Dublin. As you know, performing live is what I truly enjoy. I am still sending copies of the CD around to people, and hopefully I will get around to recording with a full band. I am on the lookout for a producer . . . hopefully T Bone Burnett will come to my rescue. Ha!”

Lynda may be kidding about ole T Bone, but the legendary record producer could certainly do a lot worse. When I think back on live performances I’ve seen over the past few years in Nashville—including from Conor Oberst, Mindy Smith, Mary Gauthier, and others of that ilk—the performance by Lynda Lucas at The 5 Spot last year easily ranks beside those of those much-better-known artists.

I also asked Lynda about various songs she performs on the demo CD, which includes cover and originals. I found particularly interesting her personal connection to the Gram Parsons-associated tune “Image of Me” (which you can see Lynda performing at The 5 Spot on YouTube).  Lynda responded:

“I first heard Gram Parsons sing this song, and [at first] thought he had written it. In 2007 I was in Crete, Greece at a songwriting seminar. There was a band there with Kevin Montgomery from Nashville. Kevin’s father is Bob Montgomery, who sang with Buddy Holly. Tommy Allsup, who also played with Buddy and who is 77years old, was with Kevin, and one night during a session singing around the pool, I was asked to sing a song. I sang “Image of Me,” and, afterwards, Tommy told me he had played on that track. That’s how I found out it was not a Gram [-written] song.”

Well, no matter who wrote it, it’s certainly never in better hands than when Lynda Lucas sings it. Which can be said of a heckuva lot of other songs, too. Here’s hoping someone in Dublin or London or Wherever wakes up to the amazing talent we saw last year in Nashville, and signs Lynda Lucas.

For more about Lynda Lucas, and to hear three new songs from her demo, visit  Myspace.com/lyndalucasmusic

David M. (Dave) Carew is editor of “Underground Nashville” and the author of the novels “Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville” and “Voice from the Gutter.” He also is a freelance book editor, publicist, and copywriter.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

