Part II – – Interview with Nashville-based photographer Todd Adams (ToddAdams.net)

Todd Adams is—far and away—one of Music City’s finest and most well-traveled photographers. In this second and final part of our Underground Nashville interview with him, Todd offers additional detail about the two countries he recently visited and photographed:


UNDERGROUND
NASHVILLE:  What was the most surprising thing to you about Spain and Morocco?

TODD ADAMS: In Spain, I was surprised that my Spanish didn’t seem to be as good as I thought it was (laughs).  In Barcelona, it was the art.  I didn’t know much about the city before I went, but you can see the influence of Picasso, Gaudi, and Miró all over the city.  Overall, I was also surprised by how expensive Spain is.  I had a guidebook, but I still didn’t believe I’d be paying €30 for dinner ($40 at the time, the exchange rate has improved since), but that was pretty common.

In Morocco, I was surprised and a little exasperated at how much it seemed like everyone around me was trying to hustle something.  It got to be a little exhausting.  We ended up getting taken a bit by a guy in Tangiers who claimed he was a taxi driver, but really he was just an “unofficial guide,” who ended up wanting to take us to several shops where he’d get a commission.  I even knew this scam, but got deceived by him telling us he was a taxi driver.  We ended up paying him a small sum to go away.

But on a positive note, Morocco was scenically gorgeous, had an intoxicating exotic feel, the prices were low, and people were generally friendly and interested in talking with tourists.  I’d like to go back when I have more time to explore other areas of the country. I didn’t get to see the oceanfront, the desert, or any Kasbahs.  I really just scratched the surface.

UN: Your photos from the trip now are posted at Toddadams.net.  How can people most easily view or purchase one or more photos?

TA: My best photos are in my wallpaper section.  I sell my photos both as prints for individual buyers and as hi-res electronic images for commercial licensing.  Either one can be arranged by e-mailing me, and my e-mail address is on the website.

UN: Is there anything else you’d like to say, that wasn’t covered by one of my questions?

TA: As always, I’d tell people who see my photos and think they’d like to go to one of these places, they should.  It’s a rewarding, educational experience that always increases my understanding of the world in so many ways.  The biggest step is just buying the plane ticket.

To view Todd’s photos of Spain and Morocco, visit ToddAdams.net and then click on “New Wallpapers.”

David M. (Dave) Carew is editor of “Underground Nashville” and the author of the novels “Everything Means Nothing to Me: A Novel of Underground Nashville” and “Voice from the Gutter.” He also is a freelance book editor, publicist, and copywriter.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

